Not all crafting is successful

I did mention that I’m a brand new knitter, have never taken a class, etc., right? Okay, because it’s nice to have a reason for my poor little bunny who doesn’t quite look like a bunny. To be honest, I was a bit confused by some of the directions in how to assemble the bunny. Also, it was supposed to be knit with #2 needles, which I couldn’t do since they are so tiny, so I used #4. I’m sure that probably meant that I had to change some of the other instructions, but since I’m such a novice, I didn’t really know how to do that. Oh well. First attempts are always worthwhile! Perfection is not necessary in crafting. I’ll leave perfection to my friends with OCD and to mass manufacturers conforming to ISO standards and whatnot.


He looks much cuter in the pictures than he does in real-life. He’s a bit lopsided. My younger son seems to like him though. It was my first completed knitting project however. Hooray for me! I enjoyed the knitting and actually figured out how to bind off a project, so those are good things. The videos at Knitting Help were excellent.

3 Responses

  1. I think it’s adorable! Good job!

  2. Having seen the original instructions in Living Crafts I think you’re being way too hard on yourself! Your bunny turned out very cute. (BTW…I think the ones in the magazine look more like mice than bunnies, and if you stuffed them with catnip and threw a tail on them, you’d brighten any cats day!) Anyway, congratulations on completing your first knitting project. BTW…I always tell new knitters that bigger is easier! Making small items is always trickier, as it is with most things. Keep at it. And I’m sure the kids will love them inspite of any imperfections they might have 🙂

  3. Yes, I agree, the ears aren’t quite long enough to look “bunny-ish”. Ah well, the problem with turning a square into a bunny, I suppose!

Leave a Reply

