Learning to crochet


We were visiting family this weekend at the lake in NH and I was given the opportunity to ask my husband’s aunt to teach me how to crochet! Her grandma taught her about 58 years ago, and she is definitely an experienced crocheter. Although I have tried to learn from books in the past, I never quite grasped it. It took her about 10 minutes to show me how, and I was on my way. I can now single crochet, double crochet and triple crochet! She even taught me how to make a ring. Now I just need to practice and figure out how to read a pattern! I’m currently making a dishcloth, and I will see it through, but it’s sort of boring. So, I’m already on the lookout for something fun to make. I think I’m going to make a little Amigurumi, like this little octopus on Ana Paula’s blog. Her book, Amigurumi World, is now on my Wish List!

More posts later. I did some fun craft shopping while we were in NH, and since I now have my trusty camera back (pretty quick service from Canon repair), I can post a much better photo of J’s birthday crown!

3 Responses

  1. I learned how to crochet a million years ago but I always go back to knitting. What I really love about crocheting are the edges you can put on things. I’m in the process of knitting yet another sweather for the grandbabies, and I want to do a lacy crocheted edge around it. Haven’t decided exactly what I want to do, so I’ll just play with it for a awhile. I know you like a lot of the retro crafts. When I was a baby, all the women were embroidering pillow cases and making crocheted lace edges. They used very thin cotton thread, often multicolored. Very cute.

  2. I was taugh how to crochet at one of my homeschooler’s get togethers. I love it. It’s relaxing! I have found some cool Patterns on http://learncrochet.blogspot.com so check that out!!!
    RB

  3. Thanks for the link RB. I will check it out. Kim, I was actually perusing a crochet book recently and it was all about crochet trims that you could make. So many cute ideas!

Leave a Reply

