Freezer Paper Stencils and Happy 4th!

I have been wanting to make freezer paper stenciled shirts for the boys for awhile, but it’s just been on the “list”. I think I read about them first on Soulemama’s blog, or maybe it was somewhere else, I’m not sure. In any case, Laura at My Montessori Journey has been on a Freezer Paper Stenciling kick this week, and her shirts for her boys look so adorable! I’ve been motivated and inspired.

We had friends visiting us for the Fourth of July today. Took them to our town’s 4th of July parade, ate yummy homemade baked beans and smoked chicken, played outside on a gorgeous, sunny, 75 degree day, etc. It was wonderful. A perfect “summer in Maine” day. We also had the opportunity to sit down and go through our camping list as we are going camping with them next weekend. Four boys at a campsite in northern Maine next to a lake. What more can a little boy dream of?

How about matching freezer paper stenciled shirts? (Okay, probably not what they are dreaming of, but I’m sure they will love them.) Since we are going to northern Maine, I decided to make black bears. No worries, you know I will share how they turn out! I think I am going to use this clip art as my stencil template. It’s from Karen’s Whimsy.

3 Responses

  1. Good luck with the shirts. And thanks for the link to Karen’s Whimsy. I hadn’t seen that one before, but it looks like she has some great images. Can’t wait to see your finished shirts.

  2. Sounds like a perfect icon for the trip…although I’m not sure if you’re hoping to run into bears or not! Looking forward to seeing the completed project.

  3. Well, I don’t think there is a question of bears. It is the north country, after all. That’s why all food and garbage gets locked up! No need to encourage them to make a visit. I made the first one and it looks great. Took a few minutes to cut out the stencil though. Laura, thanks for the info on the “soft” paint. That worked much better than the “slick” paint that I tried at first. I’ll post a pic later on!

Leave a Reply

