Blueberries


Blueberries, originally uploaded by tinasquirrel.

We have been on vacation in Downeast Maine / Canadian Maritimes. We collected lots and lots of stones from the beach and even found a bunch of sea glass. And on the way home, we stopped on the side of the road and bought 20 Pounds of wild Maine blueberries. Yum.

Now what does one do with 20 pounds of blueberries?? Well, so far, I have canned 20 jars of blueberry jam, made one killer blueberry double-crusted pie, lemon-blueberry scones and blueberry muffins. DH made blueberry ice cream and is trying out some blueberry vinegar. I have individually frozen about 2 quarts, and I still have two quarts left in my refrigerator that I need to do something with. I think I will just freeze them for later use.

It was the first time that I had ever made jam, and the first time that I ever used a boiling water bath canner (is that what it is called??). In any case, it was easier with the second batch, and I’m excited to do some more canning as more vegetables/fruits come in. Hopefully, our tomatoes will start turning red soon!

My cool picture mosaic seems to be getting cut-off, but in my HTML-ignorance, I have no idea how to fix it. Sigh. Ah well, we can’t all be perfect, right? If you click on the picture, it will take you to Flickr where you can see the whole thing. And yes, that is a huge geodesic dome in the upper right that looks like a giant blueberry. It’s Wild Blueberry Land!

5 Responses

  1. Hi Tina!

    We’ve been talking about blueberry picking around here. DH and DD have been eating TONS from the local market. I myself am not a big fan, but . . . post or send recipes for all your blueberry goodies! I need to know what to do with all this fruit, too!

    Thanks –
    Lori

  2. WOW that sounds like a lot of fun ( and work!) We love Blueberries; we have started canning tomatoes, salsa & tomato sauce, but want to try fruits….maybe next year?

  3. Hey, Tina! It was so great to hear from you! I love your blog. It’s so fun to find a friend in cyberspace.

    We didn’t get to pick blueberries this year, and the kids really feel they missed out. I bet that pie was to die for! šŸ™‚

  4. Glad to hear you finally got to can. Did you ever get to pick strawberries? BTW…It is a wonderful picture mosaic. (Went to flickr). I absolutely love your wide mouthed squatty looking jar in the forefront. What are they called and where did you get them?

  5. Canning salsa sounds yummy. Might have to try that if our tomatoes will ever ripen.

    Hi Michelle!

    Kim, no, we didn’t get to pick strawberries. We had a hail storm last August that damaged much of the crop for this year. My local U-Pick place didn’t even open for U-picking this year, and the other place I was going to try was only open 6 days! They are Bell jars. Some sort of fancy type that came four to a pack. I got them at our local hardware store. They are 8oz. Ahh…here they are!

    http://www.canningpantry.com/ball-platinum-halfpint-jars.html

Leave a Reply

