Blueberry muffins

Lori asked about the recipes that I was using to make all of these yummy blueberry things, so I thought I would share my favorite blueberry muffin recipe. These are quite yummy, nice and moist for several days. I have adapted the recipe from The New Joy of Cooking (a book that I highly recommend should be in everyone’s kitchen).

Blueberry Muffins
(Makes 12 regular-sized muffins)

2 cups all-purpose flour
1 Tbsp baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
2 large eggs
1 cup milk
2/3 cup packed light brown sugar
8 Tbsp (1 stick) warm, melted unsalted butter
1 tsp. vanilla
1-1/2 cups blueberries (fresh or frozen)

Preheat oven to 400 degrees with rack in center position. Grease a standard 12-muffin tin.

Whisk together in a large bowl the dry ingredients (flour, baking powder, salt and cinnamon).

In another bowl, whisk together the eggs, milk, brown sugar, butter and vanilla. Add this to the flour mixture and lightly mix together with as few strokes as possible. Do not overmix, lumps are good! Lightly fold in the blueberries, trying not to smash them too much.

Divide the batter amongst the muffin cups. Bake until a toothpick inserted into 1 or 2 muffins comes out clean. My oven takes about 22 minutes for full muffin cups, but keep an eye on it! Let cool a few minutes in the pan before removing from the pan. Cool on a wire rack (or serve warm! Yum!). Store any uneaten muffins in a ziploc bag, or you can also freeze for up to a few months. Just let them thaw at room temperature.

My scone recipe is from Pie and Pastry Bible. This is an awesome book if you like to make pies or other pastries. It really is informative as to the hows and whys of baking, so if you are a baking dork like me and like to know that stuff, then this is a great book. In any case, I use the scone recipe from this book and it makes the most amazing scones. They are not hard as a rock, and you can even eat them for up to 2-3 days. The key is in the technique which is one that I’ve never read in another recipe. Most recipes have you roll out the dough, cut and bake. This recipe has you roll it out once, fold in thirds like a letter, rotate 1/4 turn, roll out again, fold in thirds, etc….four times. This technique creates layers in the pastry which is why it turns out so moist (lots of great butter chunks in there!).

The recipe is for currant scones, but I’ve adapted it for cranberry-orange scones, lemon-cherry, and this time, I used lemon and fresh blueberries. The fresh blueberries were a bit problematic in terms of rolling it out (sticky!), but it worked out alright. It’s much easier with dried fruit though. For the lemon-cherry, I use about 2 tsp of grated lemon rind (zest of 1 big lemon) and 1 cup of dried cherries. Similarly with the blueberry, I used 1 cup fresh blueberries and the zest from one lemon.

I’m not going to post the recipe because of copyright issues and I’m not sure it’s okay if I’m copying it? Anyone know?

5 Responses

  1. This sounds DEE-licious! Thanks for posting. I’ll have to try it out.

  2. Too funny. Just this morning Mich and I were talking about scones. Neither of us have ever made them. You explained the technique great. Mind including the recipe? I WOULD LOVE TO GIVE THEM A TRY! And, alas, the book sounds great…just added it to my wish list 😉

  3. I will post the scone recipe for you. They really are so yummy! (And yes, it really is an awesome book. Get it!)

  4. I am going to try them this weekend! happy friday!

  5. I tried the blueberry muffin recipe last weekend. check out my blog if you have time. I have a picture of them posted. They were awesome!!!!! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

Leave a Reply

