K’s Birthday Crown


It’s my baby’s birthday today! I thankfully finished his birthday crown to his specifications last week. He wanted it to be red and white with blue stripes and a blue star. So, I made his crown pretty much exactly like I made J’s birthday crown, except I made the elastic in the back just a little bit longer for his older noggin, and added the requested stripes. It’s all made from wool felt that I got at Weir Dolls & Crafts or from my local quilting store. The letter K on the star was stitched free-hand using a split stitch with 3 threads of embroidery floss. The pattern for the crown was taken from Amanda Soule’s The Creative Family.


Here he is this morning, setting up our birthday ring.


And here are both completed birthday crowns.


And this one is just funny.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY BUDDY!

4 Responses

  1. That’s great!! Happy birthday!

  2. Happy Birthday, K! Yikes, where has the time gone? Did a great job, Mom, customizing the crown 🙂 I read a suggestion, somewhere, where a mom was going to add a little something to the crown each year. I like that idea.

  3. Adding a little something new each year is a good idea, hmm… I do like its current simplicity however. We had a great birthday. Time to put away the crown and birthday ring until next year!

  4. I can’t believe how big K is getting. It has been so long since we have seen you guys. Great job on the crowns.

Leave a Reply

