Crocheted mama octopus


Last week, I mentioned that I was crocheting a new project. My husband’s aunt taught me to crochet in June when we were visiting them out at the lake. It took all of about 10 minutes max. I was crocheting a dishcloth to practice, but practicing is so boring! So I bought Ana Paula Rimoli’s book, Amigurumi World: Seriously Cute Crochet, and set to making the penguin for my younger son who loves penguins.

Well, I had to put that on hold temporarily as I was crocheting while we were away for the weekend and I didn’t have any stuffing. So, I started an octopus for my older son. That one ended up being finished first, and now I’m back to making the penguin (with a slight detour to a very fun felting project that I will tell you about later!).

My legs are a bit lopsided (I think I miscounted on one or two of them), and they didn’t get spaced out exactly as they probably should, but it all adds to the charm, right? It is truly adorable. Unfortunately, my son’s only comment was, “no mama, I wanted the baby to be blue and the mama to be purple.” Uh thanks for the appreciation, kid. That’s okay, I will just have to keep it for myself!

3 Responses

  1. Love it! And if there weren’t a couple of imperfections, it wouldn’t have that homemade charm! Today I just picked up some #10 cotton and a size 6 crochet hook, and a book on making lace! Yikes! Pretty clueless here…must remember…imperfections = charm!

  2. Ok, I’ve always wanted to be that person who could be all calm, waiting anywhere with my crocheting looking all calm and creative. Need to learn to crochet, now…. ADORABLE!!

  3. Ohh he turned out very cute! I love the quick little toy projects. They are very satisfying.

Leave a Reply

