Images from the Fair

A Celebration of Rural Living…


Sheep herding demonstration. The dog is attempting to separate the sheep into two different groups.


Check out this fluffy prize-winning chicken!


This was a blue ribbon turkey. Gorgeous, isn’t he?


Shearing a sheep. The boys were allowed to pet her and she was so soft, and just a little damp from being sprayed a bit to make the shearing go more easily.

A plow which was part of the oxen-pulling demonstration, I think. I’m not sure if we were supposed to be sitting on it or not…


Who can resist petting a baby cow?

The Common Ground Country Fair is the coolest fair ever. Well, it’s not like I’m an avid fair-goer, but it’s the coolest fair that I’ve ever been to. It’s put on by the Maine Organic Farmers and Gardeners Association, and this was their 32nd year. Tons of educational opportunities, yummy food, cool activities like cardboard sledding and haystack jumping for the kids, and lots and lots of animals.

MOFGA’s website says that 59,000 people attended the three days of the fair this year. 59,000! Wow! I heard Saturday was extremely crowded, so it’s a good thing we got there early on Sunday morning. It wasn’t bad at all, and we were leaving just as it was starting to get crowded. I restrained myself from the amazingly lovely fiber tents, and only came away with two cool needle felting patterns from A Wrinkle in Thyme Farm, and a nice redware gingerbread boy ornament for our Christmas tree. Impressive. I didn’t think to take a picture of all the lovely yarn, but check out Soulemama’s post. It was hard to step away from all that wonderful fiber.

(The place where I bought the needle felting patterns has a fiber CSA. Ooh….how totally cool is that???)

I was watching someone groom an angora rabbit, with the woman next to her spinning the angora into yarn, and it made me want to raise Angora rabbits! The fair is a dangerous place. J’s teacher told me she was there on Saturday to learn how to raise chickens. Hubby has put his foot down on the chicken idea, but maybe I can convince him that rabbits would be nice…

One Response

  1. What a wonderful day! You got me thinking about csa farms in the area. I’ll have to do more research for next spring. But a fiber csa…could be dangerous…but cool. I’ll start on that research now!

Leave a Reply

