Mario Costumes


Well, I completed the costumes with hours to spare. (Like about three hours, but that still works!) The boys loved them, and they got tons of compliments on them while we were out trick or treating. Everyone thought it was funny that they were BOTH Mario, but as I said, I couldn’t convince either of them to be Luigi. Luigi just isn’t as cool as Mario. I learned a few things about patterns along the way (e.g., do not expect them to be accurate nor understandable), and when they say to trim the seam allowance in the crotch area, do not listen to them. Jack had already ripped the crotch after only wearing it for three hours at school yesterday morning. Thankfully, since I had made them, I fixed it in a thrice.

I’m not sure what I was thinking when I thought to myself, “yeah, I’ll make the overalls, it will be fun.” I must have not had enough caffeine that day. It was fun to sew them, if it hadn’t been a week before the holiday and if I hadn’t had a nasty cold (that is still hanging on). It was certainly not cost-effective in any way, shape or form when you consider the value of my time, but I’ll consider it a learning experience and move on. While I didn’t find the pattern instructions intuitive at all (Burda pattern for boy’s overalls), I was able to do it, and I think I’ll be able to make my next item from a pattern with a bit more ease. It’s just practice I guess.

The hats are totally adorable, and were of course the easiest part of the costume. They are actually Patriots hats, and I just basted the felt M patch on them, so down the road, we can take off the Mario M and they will have Pats hats. Although, at least for now, they much prefer them as Mario hats than Patriots hats.

The weather was a bit cool, about 45-50 degrees, but other than that, it was perfect with little wind and a nice clear night. We ran into many of K’s friends while were out and about, and the boys had a lot of fun chatting with their friends and doing the trick or treating. Our neighborhood is quite the trick or treating mecca. Unfortunately, we live right on the edge of the neighborhood and we had not ONE trick or treater. I guess that’s not a terrible thing.

Now that Halloween is over, I’m gearing up for the holidays! Woo-hoo! I am participating in a toy swap and I’m making someone a birthday crown and some wizard wands in exchange for someone else making us a crocheted chain mail hood (similar to this). Can’t wait to see the chain mail hood. I need to get my side of the swap done in the next two weeks, so that is my project for this weekend.

7 Responses

  1. I hear Burda are the most difficult patterns, as are Vogue. I was told to stick with McCalls and Simplicity as a beginner.

    And yeah, what’s with the inacuracy of the sizes? I had that problem too.

    But your Marios look wonderful!

  2. The costumes turned out great. They look like they were having fun. No sewing clothing is not cost effective. But the right patterns can be fun… and a great excuse to buy some fun fabric.

    Have fun with your swap. That chain mail hat looks very cool. I might have to make one.

  3. So, Burda wasn’t a smart bet? Ah well. It’s a good thing that I’m confident enough to ignore some of their directions, and just look at the pictures for the others.

    Michelle, I thought you’d like the chain mail hood. I’m only getting one in the swap, so I might be making another one depending on how popular it is with the boys.

  4. Those costumes are great!!!

  5. Oh my, those turned out wonderful! They look like they’re having so much fun. Way to go!
    (Sewing patterns scare me!)

  6. As a certified home ec teacher (it was my first degree that I got back in the dark ages!) take it from a pro…if you could sew that pattern, you can tackle just about anything! On a scale of difficulty, you picked a 8 or 9. Don’t let that scare you off from other pattern sewing. You’ll find most things a snap after these! And a note about the crotch…I do trim a bit, but I ALWAYS do a double or triple seam reinforcement and then put in a close 1/4 inch zigzag stitch and clip close to that. The crotch is no place to skimp on durability!

    The boys looked great! And I ask you, can there be too many Marios? I think not! Great job.

  7. oh, my stars! These are a RIOT!

    Happy Halloween đŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

