Advent calendars


I wish I had started my advent calendar project weeks ago, but of course, I didn’t! After some searching around on Etsy this afternoon, I finally committed to recreating the felt Christmas tree Advent wall hanging that was in the holiday Pottery Barn Kids catalog (now sold out). I did find this ultra-cool idea on Etsy of taking a 24 space mini muffin tin, then make little chipboard and scrapbook paper doors for each muffin spot, using magnets on the back. That would be so cool and fun to make. But, I have been really wanting to make a felt advent calendar for a long time, so I’m just going to go for it. It may not be done in time, but that’s okay. Maybe I’ll make the little muffin tin one too! I just bought a ton of wool felt from Prairie Point Junction, so now I’m committed! I splurged and bought the wool felt sample pack of 78 6×6″ squares in every color that they sell. How can you resist?

So, I am going to go for their basic tree shape, and then I’m going to embroider and embellish the little pockets as I will. They have their number embroidered underneath each pocket, and that’s probably a good idea. I will hand embroider those of course. I think I will machine sew the tree to its backing, and the little pockets onto the tree, just to make things a little easier. I will keep you updated on my progress.

Right now, I need to go wrap some Christmas presents. I’m using fabric, using Japanese Furoshiki methods. Someone on a forum I read suggested using playsilks to wrap odd-shaped gifts. So, not only do you get the gift, you get a playsilk too. How totally clever is that?

6 Responses

  1. You decided to make it! What fun! And you can do just about anything you want on the doors. Each one is a new creative outlet. I’m so looking forward to seeing your final project! And LOL…I keep telling you you’re a bad influence on me, or at least a costly one, because I’m always so intrigued with your projects, books, etc., I find myself NEEDING what you stumble upon. It’s nice to know sometimes I can have the same affect on you. Isn’t the stack of felt samples tantalizing? I’ve been tempted to take a little chunk off a piece or two, but I refrain, then find myself placing a new order! Ah, our addictions!

  2. I have been thinking of making one too and I keep eyeing the pottery barn calender as well, although I was planning on using Christmas fabric I bought on sale last year instead of wool felt.

    Now what are you going to put in all the pockets?

  3. Sorry if I’m a bad influence Kim! There is just so many fun things out there!

    Annie, I think I am going to do a combination of little treats, toys and notes. Assuming I finish it before December 1st of course. My felt was shipped out yesterday and should be here in 2-3 days. That is one of the reasons for me wanting to make the bigger tree one, because then I have more options with what to put in the pockets since they are larger.

    I think some little Playmobil guys would be fun. I made my younger DS a wooden penguin with the new scroll saw, and if I make another animal for older DS, that would be a fun addition one day.

    The boys don’t really eat any candy, so some special candy on one or two days would be a special treat.

    And for the notes, I’m going to put some things in there like, “go get our Christmas tree!” or “make gingerbread houses”. I’m sure I will create a post solely dedicated to this topic, LOL.

  4. Wow, this is really beautiful! I can’t wait to see the finished product! I just love PB Kids for inspiration!

  5. I got my felt order today and am currently washing it! I can’t wait to get started!

  6. Wow. This is gorgeous – can’t wait to see yours! I just came vis My Montessori Journey 🙂

Leave a Reply

