Doggy chew/tug toy


So, I ran across the idea for this braided fleece dog tug toy on another blog the other day. I’m currently blanking on which one! It was on a list of “ideas for handmade gifts for your animals this holiday season” type of thing. Hmm…I really like to give credit. I’m sure I’ll remember eventually.

In any case, I loved the idea, and we don’t have too many toys for the new puppy, so I quickly whipped one up. It was very quick and easy. And it’s been surprisingly durable. I’m actually pretty shocked by that. They are having a great time playing together and are becoming quite the little buddies. I made it rather long, and I tied the knots really tight. I also tied extra knots in the middle (three of them) to hopefully add to its durability. I didn’t fringe the edges, once again from a durability factor. I also made a second one that had double strips of fleece (so this one is three strips braided together, but I made the second one with strips of two braided together for a total of six strips). So I will break that one out when they destroy this one.

5 Responses

  1. What an incredible idea…with the extra bonus…you can wash it. Most of those toys get so skunky with drool that you hate to even kick it out of your way with shoes on! Anyway, I may make a scaled down version for Ringo and George…my hair Yorkies. They like to show off for me first thing in the morning with rather rowdy tug-or-wars! Glad to hear your two have become buds!

  2. My daughter and I just made several of these for our local animal shelter – her Girl Scout troop took a tour and was asked to donate something. It’s such a good idea!

  3. Kim, good point about the washing. I hadn’t even thought of that.

    Nicole, that is such an awesome idea!! I will have to remember that one.

  4. Great idea. I am going to have to give it a shot too!

  5. i saw your comment on someones blog…asking a question about the clear stamps.. you buy a clear block (i bought mine in the martha stewart craft section at walmart) anyways..then you just lay out your stamps on your table how you want them..then put the block on top of them and press down then they are stuck to the block kinda like window clings. then you just ink the stamps and stamp away.. its so super easy and the best part is that you can see right thru the clear block so you know EXACTLY where your stamping..unlike the rummer stamps were your sorta guessing..

Leave a Reply

