Completed Advent calendar


Well, it’s finally all done and hanging on the wall in our foyer! Hooray! It’s beautiful. The one row of 4, 5, 6 is kind of crooked, but c’est la vie. That just proves it’s handmade, right? I just love how all the pockets turned out. I posted individual close-ups of each pocket in my Flickr account, Advent Calendar Pockets.

I ended up using some fusible fleece in between all the layers of the tree, star and tree trunk. It worked very well, and was easy to use. I definitely think it gave it enough stability. The tree trunk is just stuck in between the tree layers, and I caught that as I was sewing the front and back of the tree together. I hand-sewed the star onto the tree using a whip stitch in the back. Since the tree is pretty thick, it wasn’t too difficult to make sure I only caught the underlayer as I was sewing. I used a small D-ring attached with a loop of felt as the hanging device. It’s up near the top under the star. It would have been easier to sew the D-ring on BEFORE I sewed the star on, but I didn’t think of it. It still worked out.

I’m planning another post with what I’m putting in the pockets each day, but in general they will be a mixture of candy/treats, little toys, and notes with activities for us to do together. So far:

1) Hershey’s chocolate Santas
2) 2 Playmobil Roman guys
3) Little holiday note pads plus a note to “make chocolate chip cookies”
4) Hmm….haven’t decided what to do today yet

Saturday, we will be picking out our tree, so that will be the activity for that day. J was saying that he wanted to do more decorating, so maybe we’ll do that this evening. So far, I only have a few things up. I wasn’t originally planning on having a 25th day pocket, but because of the whole J, “where’s my wreath?” thing, I ended up with 25. I am going to have a special note from Santa in the pocket on the 25th.

9 Responses

  1. Tina — this is gorgeous!! You are so talented!

    You should make and SELL these for next year . . . how much will you charge??? Sign me up!

    -Lori

  2. It turned out great. I’m sure the boys will treasure it.

    Have fun getting your tree up this weekend!

  3. You did a GREAT job! It looks like something from Pottery Barn only tons better! By the way, I made SIX pencil rolls from the book you gave me. THey turned out so cute! I cannot wait to give them out at Christmas time!!!
    Amy M in FL

  4. You did a GREAT job! It looks like something from Pottery Barn only tons better! By the way, I made SIX pencil rolls from the book you gave me. THey turned out so cute! I cannot wait to give them out at Christmas time!!!
    Amy M in FL

  5. Lori, do you know how many hours this thing took?? LOL! There is a reason that the ones at PBK are probably made in China. If you want to make one though, I’ll help you with virtual encouragement and templates.

    That’s awesome Amy! I want to see a picture of your crayon rolls.

  6. I adore it! Thanks for putting all the individual pics on flickr. Spent a goodly amount of time going through all of them. I don’t know why, but I have a thing for the mouse! Too, too cute! I’m assuming he’s the infamous mouse from…not a creature was stirring??? Looks great in your foyer.

  7. It looks awesome! I bet you’re so glad it’s done!

  8. I couldn’t find your email so I thought I’d leave a comment. I just wanted to say thank you for visiting my blog this past week! Your number wasn’t selected for a scarf but I still wanted to let you know how I thrilled I am you stopped by. 🙂 Hope to see you there again soon. ~claudia
    http://www.creativaclaudia.blogspot.com

  9. […] if you are really thinking ahead, I thought I would share my wool felt advent calendar that I made two years ago.  I just *love* it!  It was so worth all the time that it took to make […]

Leave a Reply

