Cinnamon applesauce ornaments


I made some cinnamon applesauce ornaments last week. They turned out quite cute and I strung them up on a ribbon and hung them over my kitchen window. And so easy-peasy. These would also make a fun children’s craft, of course. Many of you have probably done this with your children in the past, but this is amazingly the first time I’ve heard of it. (How is that possible? Do I live under a crafty-rock?)

All you do is combine 1 cup of cinnamon (yes that is 1 CUP, see that industrial sized container of cinnamon in the picture?), and 1 cup of applesauce. I just used store-brand unsweetened applesauce. I’ve read you don’t want to use handmade applesauce because it’s a bit too runny (and oh my goodness, why would you waste homemade on ornaments??!). Just mix it up with a wooden spoon and it comes together into a dough.

I then rolled it out between sheets of wax paper. It’s sticky. To about 1/8″ depth. Then, I cut out the ornaments with my cookie cutters – I used gingerbread boys and trees. I used a straw to punch a hole through the top.


Then, just leave them on a cookie sheet to dry overnight. You may want to flip them over halfway through. I decided to bake mine a bit to speed up the process, but I’m not sure if that’s the best way to do things. They don’t look good on the back, even though I tried turning them halfway. It doesn’t matter for what I was planning on doing – making a garland – but if you were making ornaments then you’d want them to look nice on the front and back. You bake them on the lowest setting you can (150 degrees or so) for an hour, turn them, and bake another hour.

They smelled rather pungent when they had just been completed, so I put them in the basement for a few days. There is only a small bit of smell now, which is preferable to me as I don’t care for strong smells (even good ones) in the house. (Okay, I know some of you are thinking, don’t you have two dogs? But, no worries, I can’t smell them. *Insert gratuitous puppy shot here.*)

When they were good and dry, I strung them on a thin holiday ribbon, tying knots in between so that they would display correctly and stay in place. Then, I hung them in front of my kitchen window. Very cute!

6 Responses

  1. Again, Tina — I’m impressed and also feeling woefully inadequate! I wish we lived closer and you could teach me in person! But this actually sounds like something I could probably do! Very cute!

    -Lori

  2. Question…after they’ve dried, do they still smell like cinnamon? I LOVE scents in the house and probably would have loved the pungent smell you described?!! I made some about 20 years ago but I can’t remember if they held a scent of not. Anyway, they look adorable above the sink. A simple, but lovely touch!

  3. Question…after they’ve dried, do they still smell like cinnamon? I LOVE scents in the house and probably would have loved the pungent smell you described?!! I made some about 20 years ago but I can’t remember if they held a scent of not. Anyway, they look adorable above the sink. A simple, but lovely touch!

  4. Lori, make them! They are so easy. You can do it!

    Kim, they smell like cinnamon if you hold them up to your nose and smell, but they don’t permeate the room or anything like that. They did smell up the entire kitchen when we were making them, but it’s been about a week now, and they only smell if you sniff them up close. I’ve heard you can rejuvenate their cinnamon smell by putting some essential oil on them.

  5. Well, smell or no smell, they are so cute. I love the rustic beauty of them. And dab essential oils on them from time to time makes sense. I’m sure they’d easily soak up the scent. Thanks!

  6. Those are adorable. I *must* make time to make some too.

Leave a Reply

