Barbeque spice rub

This is the package that I sent to my swap-buddy for the Sew Liberated Holiday Traditions Exchange 2008. We had to send a handmade ornament, a recipe, and a write-up about a favorite holiday tradition. I made a felt bird from the Winter 2008 Living Crafts magazine, and my recipes were for use with the spice rub that is included in that little tin in the picture. I wrote up my tradition story and used Lollychops‘ new pear paper as the background.

I’ve been meaning to share the recipe for the spice rub for awhile, but just haven’t really had any time to sit and write it down. I have a super-yummy barbeque spice rub that hubby and I created awhile back. We use it on pork blade roast (aka “boston butt”) to make pulled pork sandwiches, and we also use it on our ribs. We recently wanted to see what else it would taste good on, and created a little flank steak fajitas recipe too.

I made some this holiday season, and packaged it up in some silver tins that I got at Frontier Co-op, and then printed some cool labels from Lollychops to put on the top. Very cute!


So, here is the basic recipe. If you want to create more for gifts (or to store), just double, triple, quadruple it. I just store it in a Ziploc bag in my spice cupboard, but you could be fancier in your kitchen, of course!

2 Tbsp. ground black pepper
2 Tbsp. kosher salt
1 Tbsp. smoked paprika
1/2 Tbsp. garlic powder
1/2 Tbsp. ground thyme
1 Tbsp. dried oregano
1/2 Tbsp. dried mustard
1/2 Tbsp. chili powder
1/2 tsp. ground cayenne
1/4 tsp. chipotle chili pepper (can omit if you don’t have any)

Just mix it up and keep it stored in an airtight container. To use on ribs, you’ll want to take 1/2 cup of the rub and mix it with 1/4 cup light brown sugar and 1/4 cup dark brown sugar. Mix that up and rub it all over your ribs. (Remove the membrane first if you don’t like that toughness. We like to buy baby back ribs, but those are usually more expensive, and you can use this on spare ribs as well.) Wrap tightly in saran wrap and refrigerate for about 2 hours. Remove from saran, wrap tightly in aluminum foil, and cook at 300 degrees for about 2.5 hours (3 hours for spare ribs).


Remove from oven, and finish on a grill (charcoal preferred, but you can do it on a gas grill as well). Heck, Hubby likes to cook the ribs on charcoal for the whole time, but that’s too much effort for me, especially on a day like today when it’s 0 degrees.

To finish on the grill, just throw on a low/medium grill for about 8 minutes per side to brown it up. We like to serve the ribs dry with our favorite sauce on the side. You can also sauce the ribs on the grill at this stage if you prefer them that way.

I always serve ribs with cole slaw. Just take a bag of prepared cole slaw cabbage. I make the dressing with 3/4 cup of mayonnaise, 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar and 1 Tbsp of sugar. Pour the dressing over the cabbage, making sure to only use the amount that you like. I almost always have some leftover because I don’t like my cole slaw to be too runny.


Check out those little puppy eyes in the corner eyeing the ribs. Those aren’t for you, Puppy!

2 Responses

  1. I love the little puppy eyes peeping up at the ribs! That’s classic puppy dog stuff right there!

  2. I love the little puppy eyes peeping up at the ribs! That’s classic puppy dog stuff right there!

Leave a Reply

