Felting wool sweaters

I got an awesome crafty book for Christmas, Warm Fuzzies: 30 Sweet Felted Projects by Betz White. It looks like a ton of fun. Lots of fun, easy projects made with reclaimed wool sweaters that you felt in your washing machine.

1) Love that you are using recycled materials for your projects.

2) Love wool.

3) Love the totally cute projects and the fun ways she puts things together.

Betz also has a great blog that you should check out! The weather was kind of nasty yesterday so I decided to stay home and play with all those new Christmas toys (Legos anyone?), but I think I’m going to head out today and check out Goodwill. I have some sweaters upstairs just waiting to be felted that I picked up at Goodwill a few months ago, but now that I’ve gotten this new book, I want to see what else I can find!

3 Responses

  1. I knitted a sweater (finished it in Brunswick a few years ago), that now has moth holes (it took me twenty years)… I think it may have some felting in its future… happy new year!

  2. I just felted a couple of sweaters a few days ago and one of them felted so much I’m not sure I’m going to be able to cut through it! I’m planning on hitting our Salvation Army tomorrow. Along with sweaters, I’m going to check for wool skirts. I’d still like to make a wool penny rug out of recycled clothes. I haven’t checked for clothing at SA in a long time, not sure what I’ll find. I’m also going to check out the book. I’ve seen it at the bookstore but haven’t spent any time looking at it. Have tons of fun. Can’t wait to see what you come up with!

  3. Beth, felting is a great way to repurpose a sweater with moth holes in it. It needs to be at least 80% wool to felt well. The moth holes will not go away with felting, however, you can cut around them, or hide them with an applique.

    Kim, good idea to check for wool skirts. I’ll have to remember that next time I’m in our Goodwill.

    I have a favorite wool sweater that I bought in Europe when I was there in college. It has sentimental value, but I don’t wear it anymore as it’s just too big for me. (We wore our clothes big back then for some unknown reason.) I’m enjoying thinking about ways that I can repurpose it into something that I will use, and will remind me of our good times back then. I bought it because it was late August, but snowing up in the Swiss Alps! Brrr!

Leave a Reply

