Quilting practice


The quilt top is done! Woo-hoo! And it actually looks pretty good. The corners don’t line up perfectly in every place, but in general it’s pretty good. And once it is quilted and washed, you probably won’t be able to tell too much. The OhFransson pattern calls for just quilting the top and the batting, and then adding the backing layer (minkee or chenille) afterwards. I hate working with chenille and I’m not too sure about the minkee, so I’m just going to use a cotton and sew all three layers together like a normal quilt. I decided to use something that I picked up at Marden’s – a Michael Miller print called Word Search (watermelon).


So, before embarking on the quilting process since I haven’t done it in awhile, I decided to do a practice little table mat. I just took two fat quarters, sandwiched them with some cotton batting, squared it up and quilted. The quilt pattern calls for free hand quilting. I’m a bit hesitant about that. My machine isn’t fancy, and doesn’t have all of those nice quilting functions that make things like freehand quilting easier. I did a practice swatch and the stitches were really sporadic. So, I thought to myself, hmmm…wonder what it would look like just doing some big curves with my evenfeed foot? So, I made this mat. It turned out okay, but I’m still not too sure about it in terms of the quilt. I’m thinking that I might just outline the small inner squares using basic machine quilting and then maybe some big sweeping curves or swirls up the rows in between the inner squares. I’m still thinking about it. It’s a cute table mat though!



(Insert gratuitous puppy shot here…..)

I also need to still figure out the applique that I want to use. I was originally going to use the giraffe applique, but now I’m thinking the little bird might be better. Hmmm…decisions, decisions.

And on the weather front, it’s another Monday snow day! Second in a row!


One Response

  1. Love the backing material. I haven’t seen it before. I’ve never free hand quilted on my machine before. I’m thinking my new machine can do it… I’ve just never tried. Sure seems like it would take some practice to make it look so random! Anyway, I’m sure whatever you decide to do will look good because your piecing is so cute. Good luck! And I think the bird would be a cute applique!

Leave a Reply

