Cashmere bunny


I made Betz White’s free pattern for a cashmere bunny last night. So-o-o-o cute! Betz wrote Warm Fuzzies which I got for Christmas and I absolutely love. Highly recommended!

I got the cashmere sweater at Goodwill for $4.99. The cashmere is a bit slippery to work with, but it turned out okay. Her pattern calls for sewing closed the opening after you turn it, and attaching a tail. Her suggestions for a tail include a yarn pompom or a wool felt ball. I decided to stuff the bunny with wool batting instead of polyfill, and then I let the batting hang out the end. Then I sewed the hole closed through the batting that was sticking out, and needle-felted the bit of wool hanging out the end into a tail. It turned out very cute! I had to go back to Goodwill today to try to find another color of a cashmere sweater so I could make another one in a different color! I might have been successful. I’m not sure if the sweater I bought is cashmere or not because the tag had been cut out. I guess we’ll see how it works out! It was pretty quick and easy to make. I’d say it took about 2 hours max. (We were having a crafty-girl night, so there was much chatter and not as much crafting!)

4 Responses

  1. Oh, I love this little guy. And what an inspiration to felt it’s tail like you did. How perfect! We’ve been doing the Salvation Army run but I think we have several serious crafters in the area that get all the good stuff. When I was there the other day there was a women with a cart that was stacked a good 3 feet over the rim of the cart with sweaters! I’ll have to check local Etsy shops to see if someone in the area is making wool goods! Anyway, love the bunny. I’m going to check out the book too!

  2. Your bunny is so sweet! I want to join your crafty girl night. It sounds like fun!

  3. oh that’s adorable. I may have to add another book to my nightstand too. lovely.

  4. This is completely adorable!!!!! I am going to have to get my hands on that pattern and make one for myself!

    I never find $3.99 casheme sweaters on my trips to the thrift store! I find the $9.99 wool sweaters that are not even remotely cool looking! LUCKY GAL!

Leave a Reply

