Stuffed penguin heating pad


My younger son likes to complain that his tummy hurts. I’m not really sure if it really does however. In any case, I had an idea to make him a rice heating pad in the shape of a stuffed animal. Then, when he does go into the tummy-hurting routine, we can warm that up, and he can have it to cuddle and will hopefully make him feel better. His favorite animal is a penguin, and I ran across a post by Allsorts of some Wee Penguins she made based on the Wee pattern by Hilary over at Wee Wonderfuls. Hmm….this looked like good inspiration!

I used the template from the Wee pattern, but enlarged it by 200%. Then, instead of making it stand on its own by using three template pieces of the body, I just used two, so it would be flat. It’s an entirely recycled penguin! Or upcycled, or whatever the go-to term for this is nowadays. I found some old fleece pants in my closet that I haven’t worn in five years. Then, the penguin tummy is just some craft felt that I had laying around. For the rice insert, I cut the sleeve off a button-down shirt that is in my scrap/rag pile because it got too raggedy for my husband to wear to work anymore. I sewed up the bottom of the sleeve, then sewed in three channels. I filled each of these channels with rice. This will help the rice so it doesn’t shift around too much. Then I sewed the bag shut.

I thought about making it so that you could take the rice bag out, but I decided that was too much of a hassle. And I was worried that the rice bag might fall out if the boys were playing with the stuffed animal. Instead, I just sewed the bottom closed. The little wings are stuffed with polyfill. I was excited to use the recycled fabric that I found in my closet, but the fleece was pita to sew with. It had some level of spandex in it or something and it was really shifty when I was sewing, even though I used a ball point needle.

It took me about 2.5 hours to make one night after the kids went to bed. It was a huge hit with my penguin loving DS!

Leave a Reply

