Snake game mat


(Front of mat)


(Back of Mat)

J’s teacher asked if I could make them a new mat for the Addition Snake Game. (They may use it for other things, who knows!) The small felt mat they were currently using was a bit too small, and the snake beads would run into the black/white bead stair.

I decided to practice my quilting in preparation for starting to quilt the baby quilt that is ready for that step once I get a chance to sit down and do it! I used my darning foot to freehand machine quilt the word Peace in the middle of the mat. I really liked how that turned out. I practiced a few times on some scraps, of course! Then, I just did a little squiggle pattern around the rest of the white part. The red part on the right (red is indicative of addition in Montessori math materials) is where the child would put the black/white bead stair.


It turned out very cute. I was proud of it. And I got to get in some quilting practice before I work on the baby quilt! Win-win!

3 Responses

  1. Looks great. Incredible first, second, or any time attempt! Boy, did the boys’ teachers hit the mother lode when you came along! LOL. They must be counting their blessings everyday!

  2. Looks great. Incredible first, second, or any time attempt! Boy, did the boys’ teachers hit the mother lode when you came along! LOL. They must be counting their blessings everyday!

  3. Thank you! I was so happy with it. We had a school open house on Saturday and I had DS show me how to do the snake game. It was fun to watch him use the mat!

Leave a Reply

