Completed baby quilt

Simple Modern Baby Quilt

Simple Modern Baby Quilt

It’s done!  I finished hand sewing the  binding during the last two swim classes for the boys.  I’m so happy with it!  I just love how it turned out with the teal blue binding.  I had taken the quilt to my local quilting store, and the lady had helped me choose 5-6 fabrics, and then we laid them all out and picked a binding.  I was vacillating between the bright blue color, and a more muted pink color that would have blended in more.  I am so happy with the bright blue.  It makes everything stand out so well, I just love it.  I can’t wait to send it to my friend!  I’m going to make her older children a few little things though first before I send it off.

The pattern is from OhFransson, the Simple Modern Baby Quilt which you can buy on Etsy.  The main fabric is Alexander Henry’s 2D Zoo, which I bought in primary from Fabric Closet on Etsy.  Some of the other coordinates are from Sandi Henderson’s Farmers Market and Ginger Blossom.  I had the yellow from a prior project, and my favorite fabric of all is the Pink Bird Seed print from Alexander Henry.  Love those birds!  I have it in yellow too, but haven’t found the perfect project for it yet.  The backing is a Michael Miller print called Word Search in watermelon.

The puppy is getting so big!

The puppy is getting so big!

Back of baby quilt

Back of baby quilt

Completed baby quilt

Completed baby quilt

9 Responses

  1. Absolutely beautiful! Nice work!

  2. I love how this turned out. I would have a hard time giving it up! Your fabric choices all the way around were great. And I agree, the binding just makes all the other colors pop! Lucky friend!

  3. That turned out just gorgeous! Nice job! I love making baby quilts… such a fun size to work with.

  4. It is beautiful! Congrats on it’s completion. 🙂

  5. Again, GORGEOUS!! 🙂

  6. This is gorgeous.

    It would have been nice to have these skills in college, eh? We could have made some sweet gifts and decorations for sorority stuff. =) Most of the stuff i made then involved badly-placed puffy paint.

  7. Wow! I love the print on the backing. The front looks fabulous! Come check out my blog — I am just getting started on a baby quilt! 🙂

  8. […] in action Posted on September 7, 2009 by tinasquirrel All spring, all I talked about was this baby quilt.  Finally it was completed….only about 2 months after the gift recipient was born….but […]

Leave a Reply

