KCWC – Days Five, Six and Seven

Well, I didn’t get as much sewing done as I would have liked but I was pretty productive for the Kids Clothing Week Challenge. But that was because we were at the MOFGA Common Ground Fair all day on Sunday!  We love the fair.  This is not your typical scary-amusement-rides-and-gross-food county fair.  No rides here, unless you count the $2 discount on admission you get for riding your bike into the fair.  Lots of displays on traditional crafts, huge fiber extravaganza, green living displays, spinning wheel demonstrations, rabbits, chickens, goats, alpacas, horses, and lots and lots of organic food.  And of course, the kid’s favorite, cardboard sledding!

Cardboard sledding at CGF

I always love to take pictures of all the yummy yarn.  I restrained myself this year and didn’t buy any fiber at all!  But I just have too much of it here in my stash and I need to use and organize it all before I can buy more.

Yummy hand-dyed yarn

The little pleated strip skirt is almost done, and hopefully I can knock it out today.  Just needs the ribbon hem and the waistband elastic.  I finished the Leila and Ben Sweet Little Dress in corduroy this morning.  I added a pocket using the pleated pocket tutorial from Made by Rae.  Because really…how can you not have a pocket to hold your little treasures??  The pattern only goes up to size 5 (bigger sizes are in the works from Leila and Ben) and I needed a size 6, so I just enlarged the pattern a little bit.  Made it a big longer and a little bit wider, trying to use the same dimensions as the other sizes.  And I added a little bit of length on the neck and sleeve elastic.

Full dress, made with fine wale corduroy

Pocket close-up

It’s hard to see the pocket there in the picture above because it’s made with the same fabric.  But, trust me, cute and just a little puckery to make it easy to get your hand in there.

Neckline close-up

3 Responses

  1. Your fair always seems like so much fun! The dress turned out adorable. I love fine wale corduroy… and the print is so cute! We were back at the spinning shop today and Michelle bought her spinning wheel… an early b-day gift from Todd. If you have time we can go there at Thanksgiving!

  2. Ohh… very pretty.

  3. […] can check out the Leila & Ben Sweet Dress that I made for my niece in action over at today’s post on Wee Folk […]

Leave a Reply

