Making Leaf Spirits

Inspired by the post on Twig and Toadstool, I visited my son’s third grade class for their “Halloween” party last week (not technically a Halloween party, but more of a fall-inspired party with healthy snacks based on their nutrition unit that they have been doing), and helped the children make leaf spirits!  They had a great time.  I pre-cut some leaf templates out of cereal boxes, and brought along felt squares (the eco-felt stuff) cut into squares of approximate size.

Prior to starting the craft, his teacher read this story called “The Life of a Leaf.”  Such a wonderful story!  I brought felt in the three colors of the leaf’s coats – yellow, orange and red.  My son’s school colors are orange and black, and the class was having a wear-orange-and-black day.  So, orange ended up being an extremely popular color and I ran out of squares!  Eek!  That’s okay, some kids stepped up to the plate and were willing to take yellow.  I also brought roving in the three colors to match.  We used Aleene’s tacky glue in the gold bottle since that stuff dries faster than most glue.

I had pre-sorted the heads and acorn caps, so that I would make sure that I had enough that matched.  I collected the acorn caps this summer (in August), and prepped them for storage by baking them at 200 degrees for 20 minutes.  You want to make sure you get any miniature creepie-crawlies before storing them!  For some reason, we had an amazing acorn harvest this year.  Must have been the heat.  Some of them were huge!

The kids had a great time, and I enjoyed coming into the classroom and sharing a craft.  Even though it was a bit frazzling with 19 third graders and a fire drill in the middle, to boot!

One Response

  1. Looks like your project was a success! So cute!

Leave a Reply

