Moosehead Lake

Moosehead Lake in northern Maine is absolutely beautiful.  Last year we went camping there at Lily Bay State Park (great camping!).  This year we decided to rent a cabin.  We went up with some good friends whose boys are near to the same age as our boys.  So, awesome fun all around!  Lots of being lazy, swimming, reading, playing, and feeding ducks.  One day we took the shuttle boat out to Mt. Kineo to hike to the top.  Awesome hiking.  Highly recommended if you are up in the Moosehead region.  Mt. Kineo is on a peninsula jutting out into the lake.  The boys are 7yo and almost 9yo, and didn’t have any difficulty with the climb.  It was definitely rough terrain and a pretty big incline up the mountain, but certainly do-able for the boys.  I’m sure I was huffing and puffing much more than they were, LOL!  The view from the top of the fire tower is amazing, and we need to go back again during fall color season.  It would be amazing.  We brought a lunch and had a picnic at the top before hiking back down the Indian Trail (more steep than Bridle Trail).  So, our week in pictures….

Swimming and being thrown around by Daddy

Our friends jumped off the bridge near the cabin into the river

Flying kites

Mt. Kineo on Moosehead Lake

There's even a Letterbox to find!

Hiking up the Mt. Kineo trail (Bridle Path)

Family shot -- almost at the summit, another 0.4m to go

Have to go up the fire tower for the best view. Just try to not look down through the open metal staircase.

View from the top of the fire tower on the summit.

The boys loved the hike and I think we all agreed that it was maybe our favorite thing of the trip.

2 Responses

  1. BEAUTIFUL pictures from what sounds like an awesome vacation! I keep wanting to go to Maine and Patrick keeps saying northern Wisconsin is close enough…..I think I’ll just plan it and tell him we’re going next summer once we are in the car (that’s how I get him to do many things:)).

    Were the pics taken with your Canon DSLR?

    • Yes, I took the pictures on my Canon T1i. I even lugged it up Mt. Kineo! I’m glad that I did though. Much nicer than my Iphone. We’d love to see you in Maine. It’s beautiful here. Wisconsin is very nice, don’t get me wrong, but Maine is Maine. If you are ever into serious vacation planning mode, just let me know and I would have recommendations up the wazoo!

Leave a Reply

