Pot Roast in the Dutch Oven

I made pot roast the other day and it’s so amazingly simple that I felt I needed to share!  (And I want to try to win a Dutch Oven from My Baking Addiction.)  Of course, I forgot to take pictures of the finished product.  I will take pictures next time and update the post!  This is super simple and really good.  I don’t say that about a lot of things.  I use my Le Creuset oval dutch oven (in flame) because I can brown the meat on the stovetop and then throw it in the oven.

Tina’s Simple Pot Roast

3.5-4 pound beef roast (rump, etc.  something cheap because this long, slow cooking works well for those meats)
1/3 cup flour
3-4 Tb. butter
ground black pepper
1 medium onion, sliced
1 envelope Lipton Onion Soup mix
1 can cream of mushroom soup
1/2 cup dry vermouth
4-5 medium yukon gold potatoes, chopped medium
3-4 medium carrots, chopped medium

1. Put your flour on a plate and sprinkle liberally with fresh cracked pepper.  Mix up the flour mixture, and dredge the roast on all sides.

2. Meanwhile, melt the butter on a medium-high heat in your Dutch Oven.  Add in the sliced onion and saute for a few minutes.

3. Add in the roast and brown the roast on all sides, 3-4 minutes per side or so.

4. Mix up the sauce — mushroom soup, vermouth and soup mix.

Sigh, my only picture. Ready to go in the oven.

5. Pour over roast, put on the lid and place in preheated 325 F oven.

6. Cook for about 2.5 hours.

7. Prep potatoes and carrots.  (Cut into bigger sized pieces, maybe about an inch.)

8. Add potatoes and carrots after 2.5 hours.  Mix into the sauce so they get covered in the gravy.  Cook for an additional hour (for a total of 3.5 hours).

Yummy carrots from my garden!

9. Feel free to add other vegetables, sometimes I add peas towards the very end, or add in parsnips with the carrots.

10. Serve with biscuits, bread, side dish of peas, etc.

Total comfort food!  The vermouth really makes the gravy.  Don’t leave it out.  If you don’t have any, I have substituted a mix of white wine and sherry before.  But, I usually just try to always keep vermouth in the liquor cabinet, just for this recipe.  I’d say it takes about 10-15 minutes to get the roast in the oven, then another 15 minutes to prep the potatoes/carrots.  The rest of the time is just oven time.  Great result for little investment!

Come join the fun at the My Baking Addiction and GoodLife Eats Holiday Recipe Exchange sponsored by Le Creuset.

4 Responses

  1. Nice recipe. I make pot roast a lot during colder months. Here are some of the things I do: I pretty much only use chuck roasts, I think they slow cook better than rounds (the shoulder is a lot more tender than the rump, but it is also fattier). Also, and this adds a step, but a simple one: I like to roast the vegetables in a little salt, pepper and oil uncovered till they brown, then I add them to the pot. It gives them a little more flavor and texture. And I pretty much always add parsnips, but I haven’t tried peas.

    Nothing like the satisfying feeling of a family that has just gorged on a hearty stew.

    • I always find it so hard to know what cut of meat to buy since it seems that everyone calls them different things. I usually just try to go for something that looks like it has a nice marbling of connective tissue. When you roast the veggies first, do you roast them all the way or just halfway before adding them to the pot? I think I need to grow parsnips next year in the garden!

      • I don’t roast them all the way, I just like to get a little caramel on the outside of them. Maybe cooked half way.

        Chuck is from the shoulder, and the muscle group isn’t as used as the rump, it usually has the big marbling and fat chunks in it. This cut also has a lot of grizzle (collagen). It turns into rubber if cooked fast, but if you slow cook it over the course of a couple hours this melts away (this makes that nice thick gravy) and you get that nice loose texture that almost falls apart. I also think the meat is a little sweeter in flavor.

        Round/rump are from the haunches and are usually leaner. This muscle group does a lot of work, so is leaner. While you can slow cook it with some success, I find that it is usually a little dryer and can toughen up. It also doesn’t have as much connective tissue, so you don’t get that thick, satisfying gravy, it is usually just watery. This cut is usually better prepared as a rare roast beef and sliced thin.

        College: 5 years of aerospace learning, 3 years of meat cutting. Guess which has come in handy more during daily life?

        Buy the way, never tried vermouth in a stew. Going to have to get a bottle. I’ll report back with my findings.

        • So lucky to have friends who used to work in a butcher shop! So helpful. Way more helpful than aerospace learning, LOL. But you’ll probably be really good at the pine box derby and science fair.

Leave a Reply

