Baby quilt update v.2


I’ve finished all the quilt blocks and here they are laid out in rows. Now I need to start sewing my rows together. I just love how the fabric combinations turned out! As usual of course, my squares aren’t going to line up perfectly. I wonder if I will ever be able to manage that?! The pattern has you make the squares bigger than necessary, and then you trim them all up to 8×8. Of course, I somehow was not able to manage this, and some of my squares aren’t exactly 8×8, hence the squares not lining up perfectly. I’m not sure what I did wrong! Ah well, it’s handmade and doesn’t need to be perfect. I’m planning on making a second quilt with the sage 2D Zoo fabric, so maybe I’ll see if I can improve on my technique on the next go-around.


We had a pretty significant snowfall last night. Well, I don’t think it’s too much accumulation actually, maybe 10-12 inches, but it’s blowing like crazy out there. Half of our windows are covered in snow which makes it pretty dark in here! Hubby was out at 5am snow blowing the driveway so he could go to work, and he said the drift out in the middle of the driveway was at least 4 feet tall. It was too big for the massively large snowblower that we have, and he had to actually pull out a shovel. Manual labor! Gasp! I’m just glad that I don’t have to do it. We are having a snow day today, which would normally equate to some crafting with the kiddos, but I’m really behind at work, so instead I’m just going to have to try to keep them busy while I get some work done. So, off to do that!

3 Responses

  1. How incredibly cute! I do love the color combo. And the birds are so striking. It’s been a while since I made a quilt… Pixie’s was the last one, but I’ve been thinking of quilting placements for the girl’s tea party set. You just may have inspired me!

  2. The quilt looks beautiful! I’ve been thinking about doing a quilt for a bit, but I’m not sure. I’ve got plenty of other things to finish first. ;P

  3. Wow, that is beautiful!! Love all of the colors and prints. Lucky baby!

    I’ve been wanting to try my hand at quilting someday… this is really inspiring 🙂

Leave a comment