Embroidered Mini-Quilt

Girl on a Tree Swing Mini-Quilt

I have several tutorials that I want to try linked over in my right sidebar.  One that has been on there for quite awhile, I can finally check off! Comfort Stitching’s Girl on  a Tree Swing mini-quilt tutorial!  I wouldn’t necessarily say that it was quick and easy, but it was relatively, especially considering the huge cuteness-payoff!  The tutorial is very well-written and I had no questions as I moved through the various steps.  The hardest part was deciding what fabrics to use on the patchwork background!

Up-close of the appliqued girl

I have been practicing my freehand machine quilting, so I feel like I did a pretty good job on that.  And by the time I finished outlining all the little patchwork squares, I was getting into a good groove for doing the sketchy stitching applique part of the tree/girl/swing.  I just did some straight line quilting around the white border area for the “quilting” aspect of it.  And I really like the binding that I chose.  (It has orange!)

I just love how it turned out!  It’s hanging over the bed in our guest room.  It’s actually too small for that space, so I’ll probably move it to one of the side walls, but I’ll leave it there for now.

Hubby made the bed

8 Responses

  1. Wow! Your free motion quilting practice has certainly paid off – this looks amazing!!
    Thank you also for the feedback on my tutorial, it’s good to know if there are any sticky bits!!
    good luck in checking off the rest of those tutes!!!

  2. Tina: This is amazing! You are too crafty, girl! I’m going to check out some of your other projects!

  3. This turned out so cute. I love the raw edge appliqueing and want to do more of it. I’ll be linking on Facebook 🙂

  4. oh! your site is amazing!!! SO GLAD TO HAVE FOUND IT!!

  5. […] pack!  So excited.  It’s not coming out until April otherwise. You can see the style in the Little Girl on  a Tree Swing mini quilt that I did a few months ago.  I can’t wait to make some stuff for the guest room […]

  6. Thanks for your personal marvelous posting! I quite enjoyed reading it, you might be a great author.I will be sure
    to bookmark your blog and will come back sometime soon. I want to encourage continue your great work, have a nice afternoon!

Leave a comment